April 2 *St. Johns Bridge

Today I decided to get my camera on and shoot the bridge in St. Johns, Oregon.  So I loaded the Pup into the truck, and off we went.  I had hoped for more sunshine, to produce more shadows.  But of course springtime in Oregon comes with lots of cloud cover, especially in Portland, near those two big rivers.

The St. Johns Bridge was built in 1931 with two Gothic towers holding up the suspension bridge.  It’s also the tallest bridge in Oregon.  But if you want more facts than that you will have to Google it.  The real thing about this bridge, and Cathedral Park below the span is that I just love it.  It reminds me of my beloved Big Mac (Mackinaw Bridge in Michigan) and just has a great industrial vibe about it.  Many years ago, when our kids were small and we had a boat we would run down the Willamette River and sit near her span and marvel at the way she looked.

Now days she is a destination when we feel like driving, but not too far, and want to look at man-made wonders.  Or to place our cars underneath and take pretty pictures. Today I just wanted to get the bridge, and with the trees not all leafed out yet, that is just what I got!

Enjoy!

the trees are just beginning to bloom below the bridge

the trees are just beginning to bloom below the bridge

this angle really highlights the supports beneath the bridge.

this angle really highlights the supports beneath the bridge.

showing off the cyan color of the bridge.

showing off the cyan color of the bridge.

the real workers, the supports beneath, standing here you can really sense the power of the road by the thunder the traffic above creates.

the real workers, the supports beneath, standing here you can really sense the power of the road by the thunder the traffic above creates.

one of my first shots, its my favorite

one of my first shots, its my favorite

here I played with the now common filter effect of HDR toning.

here I played with the now common filter effect of HDR toning.

this effect is basically monotone to show off the Gothic towers.

this effect is basically monotone to show off the Gothic towers and the famous Portland clouds.

4 comments on “April 2 *St. Johns Bridge

  1. Candace says:

    What a pretty bridge! Nice shots.

    Like

  2. Jacqui says:

    I really like the next to the last one. They are all great. You do such good work. Love ya

    Like

  3. Lynda Elaine says:

    I don’t live far from the bridge and I agree – It is a beauty.

    Like

  4. Cosmic Sol says:

    Beautiful shots! MY fav bridge in pdx 🙂

    Like

join the conversation ~