Sunday morning *

The Pup and I got up early this morning to make breakfast for Hubby as he left to make a delivery in Washington.  It’s not my habit to get out of bed before the sun rises, but love makes you do the strangest things!  (of course Pup doesn’t care what time it is, he is always ready for anything … )

Hubby and Pup, photo taken last summer

So I find myself with a few “free” hours, or unscheduled time and open up WordPress on my computer.  Wordpress is one of those things that I have just not had the time for much this year.  I read a few of the blogs I follow, and two of those gave me the inspiration to linger  a while; to write, and to freshen up my page a bit.  Thanks Jesse for this post, all your work is just wonderful.  “What we are made for”  and Candice for taking the time to share. “Natures Ornaments”  .

As I have been sitting here, looking out over my almost sleeping garden, the sky has changed from inky black to winter white and the birds have returned to the feeders eager to begin another day.  It’s really hard for me to resist the urge to check my to-do list, open my email program, just do what I do every day.  This morning the chores will just have to hush up and wait for me to get to them, because every once in a while I hear the words from the film The Shining:  ” All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy”  and who wants the fate of the Jack Nicholson character?!  So this morning I just let my mind wander to see where it would take me.  So I think of that film and how some of it was made right here in Oregon at our landmark  Timberline Lodge.

Timberline Lodge photo taken in September of 2011.

Hubby and I drove up there last summer for some fresh air and scenery, and of course to take some pictures!  It was a great afternoon, and a wonderful memory to wander around in.

The lodge in December

The lodge in December

And that trip down memory lane led me to the last time we made the drive in the winter, to Timberline (above) and Multnomah Falls (below) in 2007.

Multnomah Falls lodge in December

Multnomah Falls lodge in December

I will be back later, to add a few more pics and just chat, in the meantime I better get that dang list going, after all, it’s the busiest season of the year!!

*sharon

 

*And for my readers, I decided to move the furniture around and try some new things with the blog; the *home page has been changed to land on a listing of my most recent blog posts, my *about page has been tweaked a bit and a new page has been created, *just photos, a page solely for posting a single photo about whatever is on my mind at the moment.

Much of my blogging energy this year has been spent taking care of Hubby’s page, Chance of Rain Trucking which is now mostly up to date, if you want to take a peek, and my friend Beth’s page Paper Parachute Art Design Co.

 

 

6 comments on “Sunday morning *

  1. literaryyogi says:

    Wonderful photos. Looks peaceful and festive. Your dog is adorable.

    Like

  2. Maggie says:

    It would be great to link music to your blog~~just saying.
    Like Winter Wonderland 🙂

    Like

  3. Candace says:

    Thank you for the nice link, Sharon. I am going to check out the other person you mentioned now, too, Jesse. That photo pf Multnomah Falls Lodge is beautiful, Christmas card-worthy! Happy Holidays, I hope we both get in the mood soon.

    Like

join the conversation ~

