setting it all up * Spring Garden Fair

I think I like Friday the best of the Fair days.  It’s the day we begin to see the results of all our work, and its the day the plants arrive!!  Now I don’t know a single gardener that wont be excited seeing all those perfect little plants ready to find a permanent home.

My day began at 8 am in a drizzly rain. It was cold, in fact I am still pretty chilled.  I had to complete my job placing signs around the grounds, and see what other details needed my attention.  The sun came and went, it got hot then cold, wet then dry.  But we all went about our work, undaunted by the weather.  At 11 am the vendors begin to pull on to the tarmac and unload their wares.  It gets pretty crazy out there, all those trucks and trailers.  I was cruising around in one of the golf carts, finishing up most of the afternoon.  (and I have to say, my poor feet were grateful for the cart to drive around)

By  mid-afternoon the signs were all taken care of; it was time to get the camera out and take a look at the place thru my lens.  This is something I never tire of.  Each time I walk those aisles I see something different, and each year my focus changes.   Last year I remember being struck by how fresh and new everything looked. This year the textures of the leaves and the play of the light in the colors of the blooms really got my attention.  The light was constantly shifting thanks to the clouds that never stood still all day long.  And the wind was moving things around, tossing the potted trees on the ground and rustling the leaves of the perennials.  You would think that with all that wind, it would have been a loud day. But this year everyone seemed quieter, more focused on the task at hand. And just like that, the long day was coming to an end.  I was talking to some friends and tweaking some of the signs just a bit, and I noticed that most the vendors were done, and gone until the morning.  Just as the light was dropping below the rooftops, we closed the gate with everyone (mostly) ready for opening day; Saturday at 9 am.

Here are just a few of the things that me and my lens saw this afternoon. Click the first image to open the carousel of larger images.

Until tomorrow …. when I will bring you the opening day of our Fair!

 

 

other posts in this series: 

Sunday @ the Spring Garden Fair*  

Saturday @ the Fair*  

Pre post * Spring Garden Fair  

4 comments on “setting it all up * Spring Garden Fair

  1. […] navigation ← setting it all up * Spring Garden Fair Sunday @ the Spring Garden Fair * […]

    Like

  2. […] Setting it all up* Spring Garden Fair   […]

    Like

  3. […] Setting it all up* Spring Garden Fair   […]

    Like

join the conversation ~

