*black Friday

“The day’s name originated in Philadelphia, where it originally was used to describe the heavy and disruptive pedestrian and vehicle traffic which would occur on the day after Thanksgiving. Use of the term started before 1966 and began to see broader use outside Philadelphia around 1975. Later an alternative explanation began to be offered: that “Black Friday” indicates the point at which retailers begin to turn a profit, or are “in the black”  ”   (thanks, Wikipedia)

Taken out in the country, a lit star decorates a barn

Are you an early shopper?  Do you scour the ads for the great deals on Thanksgiving day, for-going that extra serving of mashed potatoes?  Do you map out your route based on the deals at your fave stores?  I was in mine this week, doing some Thanksgiving day shopping.  They were all stocked up and ready to go, in anticipation of the Black Friday craziness. Now, mind you, I could have purchased that beautiful scarf that I didn’t need, at twice the price it will be on black Friday… best to wait and get up at omg:o’clock to save that $7.00.

So, I am not a big black Friday shopper.  I understand the idea that to afford some luxuries and extras you have to take advantage of this kind of thing.  I guess I just don’t like the idea that such an inherently greedy day marks the opening of a wonderful season.  I would much rather think of  all the beautiful things that Christmas and the season bring.

 Christmas Tree …. has always been my favorite part of Christmas.  As a kid I was mesmerized by the lights and the ornaments on the family tree.

My own tree from a few years ago. I still sit in wonder, looking at the lights & keepsakes that adorn it. I can't imagine anything but a fresh tree in my home, so every year I head out to my fave Christmas Tree farm for a short Noble fir.

This green spinner was on the family tree as long as I can remember. There was a pink one and this green one. I have both now. Before Mom gave me the spinners I found a replica in a store. It was a perfect copy, right down to the hook for hanging. I love this ornament so much, it has a permanent place on display in my living room.

One of the best parts of Christmas is going out and seeing places all decked out for the holiday

Timberline Lodge, captured this image on a weekend outing

The previous photo became this image, used in my portfolio today.

We wait all year to participate in these once a year events.

The Christmas Ships in Portland, Husband and I love to go each year. I was very pleased with this series of photos, but can't wait to go back and see if I can improve on perfection.

And to bring out those favorite keepsakes from Christmas past.

This retro ornament is part of the collection I brought home from my mom's. They have an honored place in my decorating every year.

And add new ones for Christmas to come ….

This beaded ornament was created by my sister a few years ago, and is part of my growing collection.

Take some time to remember what it was about your childhood Christmases that you really loved ….  and please share some of those cherished memories.  Now that the season has officially begun, Merry Christmas !  May yours be everything that you wish it to be, and more.

3 comments on “*black Friday

  1. […] date.  I have been talking a lot about the Christmas Season, sharing  pics about the holidays.  Black Friday, Cyber Monday, Zoolights, Christmas Ships and my Decorating stories.  I love talking about the […]

    Like

  2. Candace says:

    The Christmas Ships look gorgeous!

    Like

    • S. Andrews says:

      They are, its a really beautiful event. We try to get out every year to see them, tho some years the weather is just too much for us. If I get out there this year (weather permitting) I will have more images to share! Last night we were at our Zoo Lights in the Oregon Zoo. Will have some of those images ready next week ….

      Like

join the conversation ~

