Ahhhh, its August !

Its no secret that I love August. Most years its one endless hot sunny day after another, mornings less hot and afternoons breezy and dusty. Evening strolls into night, which is often the best weather of the day with no unrelenting sun to hide from.  There are vacations, and summer projects to be done, County Fairs to attend, and picnic’s to go to.  As a kid we loved the freedom, but there was always the specter of a new school year in the air.

This morning I look out on a summer morning that is quite different. Now, we all know that the weather of 2011 has been anything but predictable, especially by the standards of the record books. But it feels to me that I have been plunged right back to the summers of my mid-west roots. And I love it!

Morning cloud cover keeps the heat at bay, the afternoons are sweet and a bit humid, and the evenings are fluid and still.  My garden looks wonderful, the grass is happier with the cooler temps and isn’t taking a daily beating from the sun.  Roses are finally not being tattered from the (unusual) mid-July rains, and giving me some beautiful mid-summer blooms.  Its true that everything is late this year, so I finally have an eggplant peeking out from the leaves of my potted veggie garden. Its about the size of a  lime right now. (Planted the plant in June) But with weather like this to wake up to, I don’t mind a few late veggies.

As always, I have been out taking photos and enjoying every minute of it. Last week I was in the Portland International Rose Test Garden taking pics. On Saturday Hubby and I went for a drive in Portland’s industrial district to look around and shoot some neat stuff he has seen while making deliveries for his company.  And the weather was perfect!

I have been busy with a project that is mostly complete, I know I owe you all pictures from Dulcy’s garden.  Those will be coming later this week, and hopefully some other I have been working on.  For now, I will leave you with a request:  Tonight, when the stillness has returned along with the darkness of the August night, step outside and breathe deeply, close your eyes and return to those August nights long ago, when you didn’t have a deadline or a to-do list.  I will be there with you, looking at the stars.

